Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Rock Face!

    September 18, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 20 °C

    Today I woke up in the Badlands. A unique experience for me to not see anyone when I set off on a hike, sleep in my tent, and then not see anyone on my return hike. The morning was crisp and clear, and I stayed warm all night. That meant the day was going to be hot.

    After repacking the bike from my overnight hike (which is not something that takes a few minutes like it might in a car. Everything has its place so to get things to fit, they all go back into their place.) I make my way towards Rapid City for lunch. On my way out I take the road to the south of the park (well the north eastern part of the park) and go between the two major halves of the park. This road is much less traveled, but absolutely gorgeous. I spot my first buffalo! It feels a bit strange to make it this far in life and not seen such iconic animals.

    Before reaching the city I stop for gas, some regular maintenance on my chain, and check the oil. I notice a little stretch in the chain so I will have to tighten it up. The oil is also going to need a top off in the next few days. This engine design consumes oil as part of its design, so occasional additions of oil is not abnormal.

    After lunch I make my way to Mount Rushmore! Another piece of childhood legend which has stuck with me till today. Wow, what a project for someone to undertake. You really have to measure twice, and set your dynamite off once. Deterred from entering the monument by a parking fee, I stop along the roadside at pull outs which grant fine views of the sculpture. I am amazed at the setting of such a piece of art. It doesn't get more public and permanent than making your art in the side of a mountain.

    Just down the road is the Crazy Horse monument. What an incredible time to see such an undertaking. I hope to see it completed in my lifetime, but the progress may slow at times as the project is privately funded. The scale of this sculpture is even grander than Rushmore. It's actually larger than any of the great pyramids. It was interesting to learn about the progression of the project and to see how it began. Native American elders asked this sculptor who lived in Boston to move South Dakota and build this monument. The gentleman they asked happened to be the perfect guy for the job. I wonder if he was the first one they asked? Not only did the sculptor take the job, he funded the project himself. He and his family of 10 children (who weren't around before construction began) were critical in creating this monument.

    Crazy Horse was definitely something to experience. After walking around the museum a bit, I got back on my pony and headed south to find a place to set up camp. My plan is to explore Wind Cave National park tomorrow, so I saw a camp in the park. It will be perfect for getting an early start tomorrow.

    I was planning on flying back to Boston for Matt and Genevieve's wedding out of Salt Lake city, but seeing as I have 16 nights left before the flight and I am already almost into Wyoming, I changed my flight to leave Seattle. This may increase my chances of getting through the coldest part of the trip by almost two weeks, which could make a significant difference. That means that I could be in the Tetons in two days! Yeehaw!

    Pictures: Sunrise and moonset. A sign I saw on the way in but decided it was picture worthy after I finished the hike. The next one explains itself. I felt pretty Merican standing below Rushmore having ridden in on a motorcycle. Crazy Horse is the next 3. What it looks like today, then the progression over the years, and then a 1/35 scale version.
    Read more