Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Grand Tetons!

    September 21, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    I stop in Casper for the night and don't feel like camping out, I need a shower. I find the cheapest hotel and spend the night. I do my laundry in the sink and go to bed early. The next morning I get an early start and head for the Tetons. Wyoming was not as exciting as I thought it would be to drive across. The typography is a little more interesting than the middle of the country, but not terribly so. I do see elk off the road in large fields, as well as the beginnings of mountains off in the distance. I guess I don't know what more I expected to see. The wind the day before Casper is really strong, but the day between Casper and the Tetons is nice. I notice a few trains along the roadside. They are all carrying coal. I spot four trains in total, each about a mile long. Wow.

    As I approach the Tetons, I notice that I've been steadily climbing in elevation. The temperature has stopped going up for the day, and soon 5th gear does not work so well going uphill at lower rpm (around 3700). I have to downshift into 4th to maintain my speed. I must be getting pretty high. A few minutes later I see a sign for the continental divide! Elevation 9584. I now have to give the bike some gas on startup. It's a beautiful clear day out and I keep driving toward the park. Soon I come to an overlook that shows the Tetons. It's absolutely beautiful! The grey peaks are sharp and jagged, which contrasts the soft and vibrant colors of the fall Aspen trees and other colors of the foliage.

    I keep riding and soon I see a view which I think I've seen in a road atlas. The road is straight until it crests. At the end of the road the Tetons shoot up out of the road. The road has tall evergreens on either side of it framing the view. What a sight!

    After entering the park I head towards the visitor center to inquire about hiking. I'm told from the backcountry permit ranger that the weather for the afternoon on Wednesday (which is tomorrow at this point), through Saturday is supposed to be cold and rainy. Snow at higher elevations. Rats! Those were all the days I was planning on being in the park. I take the weather forecast and think about it. Next stop is to set up camp. There is a campground on the map towards the southern end of the park which is good because it is close to Jackson, my next stop where I will try to improve the waterproofness of my feet. The first campsite I come to is in the park and costs $25 a night. I think it's a little steep and I'll be surrounded by RVs. I continue 10 more miles down the road to the next campground. This one is only $12 and it's in the national Forest bordering the park. Sounds like this is where I'll stay. I set up camp and head into Jackson. I stop at Teton mountaineering and eventually bite the bullet and get new boots and gaiters. My old Northface boots are close to 10 years old and are coming apart. I grab a quick dinner and some food for hike I decided to go through with and head back to camp. On the way back it is dark. I'm not thrilled about driving in the dark especially in a place like this that is full of large animals. Ahead I see some headlights and they come to a stop. The headlights are now illuminating a large bull elk with a huge set of antlers. A few more miles down the road and I spot some eyes off the road, there are some deer. It's really time to get off the road.

    I finally make it to camp after a slow 25mph ride. It's getting cold out so I bundle up and get in my tent. I've got a long couple of days ahead.

    Picture: Teton Range
    Read more