Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Point Reyes National Seashore

    October 25, 2016 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Leaving Gualala, I head for Point Reyes National Seashore were there is some backcountry camping. It is supposed to rain all day so I make sure everything is buttoned up so things stay as dry as possible. I even close my pant zipper pockets, which if you leave open is similar to leaving a jacket pocket open while skiing, but much wetter.

    Route 1 is again a challenge. The wet roads I found were no more slippery, but debris in the road had increased. I keep a keen eye out for sticks and other obstacles. Eventually I come around a tight corner and there is an unavoidable wet stick in the road. The front tire hits the stick. The stick is very close to parallel with my front tire as I'm leaning into the turn. I then feel the front tire ride up and over the stick as centripetal force pulls me to the outside of my turn. Luckily the stick wasn't too big and my front wheel only jumped a half inch or so, but it was big enough to make my heart jump about the same amount. I continue on towards the seashore and the rain starts to clear. The forecast has the following day listed as rain free, and partly sunny, so I should be alright sleeping for the night in the relative dry. I soon come to the visitor center and my outer shell and gloves have started to dry off. At the visitor center I get a permit and ask about weather and animals in the area. They seem to have raccoon and skunk problems at the campsites, so lockers available are at each site. A definite plus to not have to worry about food storage at camp. After getting the lay of the land I ride to the trail head and pack an overnight backpack, cover the bike, read it a bedtime story, give it a kiss goodnight and start a short 2 mile hike to the campsite.

    The name of the campsite is "coast". Very clever. This does throw some ambiguity into the mix when there is also a trail called "coast" but does not lead to the campsite called "coast". Luckily I remembered the name of the trailhead as well as how to get there and didn't start going down the wrong trail. It feels like I'm in the exact opposite place from the national seashore on the cape. There are shore birds, dunes, a very dense, diverse group of native plants that don't grow much outside of this area, and the possibility of great sunsets. I immediately spot a young buck on the side of the trail. Soon after that there is a flock of quail in the trail. Followed by a cool salamander also hiking down the trail. I'm pretty sure I'm in the right place.

    Soon enough I reach my campsite and I set up my tent. I might be a little strange but I enjoy setting up my tent. Otherwise I probably wouldn't enjoy camping much. Finding the right spot, then orienting the tent properly for ease of entry and sunrise while keeping in mind the grade should there be one, and if the tent is in a low spot, is a fun small challenge. The challenge then results in shelter and is fairly gratifying, especially when done properly.

    A quick dinner of still delicious lentil soup, is all that is left to do before heading down to the beach. The beach lies down a path which leads to a small body of water which almost blocks access to the beach. The path turns sharply as it becomes extremely narrow. You are only a few feet above the medium sized pool, but the drop off into the pool is steep. Slipping in might mean complete submersion, which would not be fun. I take careful steps and soon am staring at a beautiful windswept beach. There is a sliver of blue sky close to the horizon. Maybe I'll the sun today! As I walk down the beach, I follow animal tracks. Maybe it's a raccoon's tracks? I never find out, but I do spot some piping plovers. The same birds that nest on cape cod beaches all summer. Then the sunset happened! Well at least I think it did... The small window through the clouds was almost in the right spot. It still made for a great view though. That's as close as I've come to seeing the sun in a few days. Today was a good day.

    Pictures: Route 1 south of Gualala. A little more route 1. The first salamander I've seen in a long time. I remember finding them routinely under a rock which was under a downspout at the house I grew up in. A glimpse of the Pacific. Sunset with some nicely placed flowers. A little later and further down the beach.
    Read more