Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Beach Resort

    March 24, 2019 in Senegal ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Checked out of Olomo at 11:45am, had to pay CFA 9,000 for the meal I had on the first day. Stepped out and signaled towards the taxi parked outside asking him if he was Saliu the Taxi driver I had negotiated with 2 days back to take me to Saly. He answered qui. I had doubt but wasn't too sure. He quickly put my bags in the car and we started driving out of the hotel when another taxi entered flagged us down and I immediately recognised the Saliu I had spoken to. I confronted the taxi driver who now confessed he was Ahmed and not Saliu, apparently he wanted to steal his colleagues passenger since they both operate from the hotel. I was upset with him came down of the taxi and transfered to the original one.

    We left the hotel at 12 noon. The road to Saly is a 3 lane perfectly tarred express road with several toll gates. Got to Saly about 1hr later. Had to use my google maps to navigate to the hotel. Got to the gate of Les Filaos hotel, security man asked which hotel told him Le Saly and he pointed us to the adjacent gate 20 metres away.

    Apparently both hotels are side by side with no dividing internal fence. Paid the taxi driver CFA 20,000 and he asked if he can come pick me back on Saturday to Dakar which I accepted. On getting to the reception I was given a guest card to fill and a green wrist band before the receptionist checked the system and discovered I was booked at Les Filaos.

    A porter was assigned to take my bags to Les Filaos across, where my green wrist band was exchanged for an Orange one indicating I was on full board with meals. Checked into my room, AC wasn't coming in, a technician was called who flipped the fuse by the door to activate the AC. Had lunch of white rice, steak, fish and curry sauce.
    Read more