Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Arrived Mombasa, Kenya

    September 16, 2018 in Kenya ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Weather was chilly with temperature at 14 degrees. By 6:30 am I was already on the Visa queue having filled the Visa application form and Entry card provided in the hall. Que for those applying for Visa was very very long and I finally had my visa pasted in my passport at 7:50 am.

    Got my lone bag from the conveyor belt and proceeded to the exit of the airport stopping to change $100 to KsH 9,800. Found a Safricom kiosk just outside the airport exit door and bought a sim with 2GB data for Ksh 1,000. After which I proceeded to the domestic terminal just across the road from the international terminal. Checked into the Kenya Airways Mombasa flight which departed at 9 am and arrived at Mombasa after a 1 hr flight.

    Hailed an Uber to Voyager Beach Resort. Scenery to the resort wasn’t spectacular. Arrived at the resort a few minutes before noon. Lovely Ship themed resort, was welcomed at the gate by a security man who blew a trumpet to announce my arrival. Paid for half board accommodation which covers breakfast and dinner but breakfast was already over when I arrived, so I ate lunch which was a buffet charged to my room.

    Took a walk round the hotel taking in the lovely sights and met two interesting ladies. Came back to the room to catch up with sleep and later had dinner
    Read more