Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Finally landed in Port Harcourt

    January 15, 2022 in Nigeria ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Arrived Port Harcourt after a 45min flight from Abuja. Haven started the journey 2 days earlier. On exiting the plane we walked past a temperature scanner to detect who might be ill, after which Port Health officials checked our predeparture Covid test and permit to travel. I had mine stored on my phone as I had no means of printing them in Philly. Once satisfied they issued a clearance slip to present to immigration which was the next stage.

    Joined the immigration queue, 1st desk was called clearance where an immigration officer collects the covid clearance then scans your passport on the computer before clearing you to proceed to the next immigration desk to have the entry stamp placed on your passport after which you proceed to the baggage carousel to pick your bags. I got a cart and a Potter to carry and push my luggage out towards the scanner and load them all onto the scanner conveyor belt,, before reloading onto the cart and heading towards the exit where customs officials were standing to intercept everyone and extort some money failure to corporate leads to being asked to open your bag and further attempts at harassment all in the aim of getting some money off the passenger.

    Eventually I exited the terminal and was sorrounded by taxi drivers offering their service. My brother was there to pick me so I didn't need them.
    Read more