Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    19. Banff (Part 2)

    September 2, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Today was "lake day". Best sunny weather, I had yesterday booked a shuttle to 2 of the most visited places in Alberta. Since this year, access to Moraine Lake is only possible with a shuttle service. And to Lake Louise, park lots are filled early in the morning. So I booked a shuttle to both lakes - and the new system is understandable as there were many, many tourists 😳 And I started early in the morning, can't imagine how much people will be there later in the day.

    But Lake Louise and Moraine Lake are both stunning and next to Spirit Island (day 13) sureley the most photographed landscapes in Canada. After that, I returned to the Icefields Parkway to visit Lake Peyto and Lake Bow. Same situation: beautiful lakes, but to many tourists. As there were in Spray Lake Provincial Park to many tourists, too (saturday + long weekend as canadian celebrate labour day on 4th of september), I decided to chill at my lodge, do a little swim in the pool and enjoy Star Wars on TV.
    Read more