Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    23. Malakwa to Penticton

    September 6, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Asked myself: Why is my lodge called the "last spike"? Found the answer in a town near Malakwa: here, the completion of the Canadian Pacific Railway from sea to sea in 1885 was done. As the railway plays an important role in Canada, this was an important historic site!
    After that, I left finally the mountains and landscape changed. There were more hills, farmlands and beautiful lakes. Vegetation became drier and there were vineyards on the hills. I arrived in the so called Okanagan valley. Population density is higher, it's normally warmer and drier in this region and yes this was the region that was hit the most by the wildfires in British Columbia. So I was nervous, that it would be as tumultous as in Cache Creek (day 7) - but no smoke, no signs of fire and no exclusion zones. However, google maps said I should evitate the road to Kelowna, as streets could be blocked. And even that I didn't see any signes of wildfire, I'm now in the area that was hit by a travel restriction only 2 weeks ago! So I did my way to Penticton, there were not so many stopps to appreciate the landscape as in the "Rockies". The landscape reminded me of mediterran regions (the region is also called "canadian Tessin") with a lot of lakes and vineyards. At Lake Country, the Highway to Penticton was closed but the detour - wow! In Luxembourg, even dirt roads are in better shape 😂 But after 60 hard km for my KIA, I arrived in Penticton - in a Ghost town...is it because the fires who are still burning 2h away?
    Conclusion: A more lazy day, but 1,5 weeks ago, this travel of 4 hours wouldn't have been possible 🔥
    Read more