Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    33. Campbell River (Part 2)

    September 16, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Visited the Quinsam River Hatchery, where they stock up salmon to restore the natural balance in rivers. It's a "fish production" to support sustainable fisheries, they breed and release them in the wild. Outside you can observe the amazing cycle of the salmons on their way upstream. But with blue herons, seagulls, crows, vultures, bald eagles and bears, all the predators are there to - so you can observe the fish massacre, too. I even saw a river otter or mink for an instant.

    After that, I hiked some trails in the Elk Falls Provincial Park. First of all to the falls of the same name with the suspension bridge, then to the Deer Falls and after that the Canyon View trail next to Campbell River. There I saw 3 (!) black bears. One on the other side of the river, one only 50 m away who changed direction after he saw me and my "BeAware" behaviour (and some photos). But the first of them was only 5 - 10 m away from me, as I surprised him crossing the path. He was as surprised (or scared?) as me and ran directly into the woods (of course no photo, crazy moment).
    Read more