Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    An ARDS day's work

    August 10, 2017 in England ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Arriving at Thruxton for my ARDS (Association of Racing Drivers Schools) National B licence test, the day took a number of pleasant unexpected turns. My instructor Peter 'Snowy' Snowdon fed Lucy and me with coffee and motorsport anecdotes in the race control tower. My theory exam was interrupted by the sideways maestro Tiff Needell asking what message I wanted written in the autobiography I had bought for my good friend Peter Stark. Some track time in a Lotus Exige and a Porsche Cayman secured the practical side of the test only to be outshone by Snowy taking Lucy and I out for a fast lap in a Skoda VRS. Now I knew these Skodas were competent fast saloons but the sight of a Skoda making many a supercar look like it was going backwards, further emphasised by Tiff going sideways past them made me realise these guys are in a different driving league. Any way long story short, I passed and now to find someone daft enough to let me drive their racecar. If not I'll just have to build my own 😊👍Read more