Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Plans go astray

    August 30, 2018 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    A very frustrating afternoon trying to get consistent answers from Trenitalia regarding getting the bike on one of the train sectors the following day. ‘Booked out’ seemed to be their fall back position. After much angst I decided I’d wing it and see if I could sweet talk my bike on (it is Italy after all)....

    The downside would be that if I couldn’t get on (or got booted off the train) then I’d forfeit my prepaid accommodation in Rosenheim and have to find somewhere else for the night and reschedule a different place to meet up with the others.

    Also my arm/wrist continued be painful after my bike mishap 10 days before on a Sydney ride. Consultation with Dr Google suggests it could be badly sprained or I could have a fractured scaphoid in the wrist! Either way I needed to purchase a wrist support so that was an interesting exercise in visiting multiple chemists.

    Next issue was that being a flat bar bike the hand/wrist position aggravated my injury so I had to find a bike that stocked accessories and bar ends. A cycle across the city over the dreaded cobbles and tram tracks was so painful but found the Decathlon sports store and got the necessary bike bits.

    And to top it off, the dinner at the ristorante (which looked promising) was truly underwhelming. I mean how hard is it to make a decent pasta diviola in Italy!

    Happiness Factor: extremely low right now
    Read more