Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Arrived in Portomarin

    October 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    Rained all day but no wind so quite pleasant. Walked for just over 22k very green quiet countryside
    Old churches still standing although most not in use. Quiet walk only a few other pelligrinos which is what those who are walking the Camino are called. Very well signed even I didn't get lost although I did check my position on Alltrails app. I'm glad I've had hiking experience...I had not prepared enough because the trip all happened so quickly
    I've been able to appky some principles which I think helped...start slow and pick up speed as you settle into a pattern, keep hydrated and blood sugar level up rest at intervals....I was very glad to see the town of Portomoran ahead. Any deep and meaningful (D&M...from now on) insights. I thought about the medieval women who have walked this path. We are usually presented with images of male pilgrims but women did as well. Other than that, enjoying the freedom of walking alone in such stunning countryside. Tired but got through Day 1!
    Read more