Satellite
Show on map
  • 3. The Date is Set!

    August 12, 2019 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 73 °F

    Craig is now close enough to San Jose to confirm our rendezvous date, which is...…
    AUGUST 23, nine days away!

    My 12+ hours flight leaves at 6A and arrives after 7P. Craig’s stepson Ken, who has been travelling with him since Belize, will be departing as I arrive. I’m really glad Kenny, who is a big strong (young) guy, was with Craig through some of the more dangerous areas of Central America. Safety in numbers, right?

    I’ve been to CR before, but not in the area through which we will travel this time. Although much of the trip is loosely planned and will be a journey of discovery, I am looking forward to a few highlights. They include surfing in Costa Rica (I’m determined to get up on the board this time!), seeing the Panama Canal and experiencing the vibrant and modern Panama City, doing business with Colombian drug lords (not), seeing how the retired ex-Pats live in Ecuador, (could be my future – you never know), enjoying the wildlife and understanding the ecological challenges of Galapagos, trekking to Machu Pichu in Peru, visiting the 16,000+ ft high Lake Titicaca, and finishing with 3 days of roughing it through the Laguna Trail in Bolivia. Another highlight would be grabbing a pick-up game of soccer with the locals somewhere, if they’d be willing to let a gringo (and female at that!) on the pitch.

    I’m so excited.
    Read more