Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Dawlish by the sea then Penzance

    August 30, 2022 in England ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    The sun is shining and my nerves are settling.

    Reaching Penzance after hearing names of places I'll be riding through. Sun is still shining and sea is blue. Just like The Med....except those swimmers in the lido by the beach look quite chilly.

    I found real Dutch liquorice at about 10 times the price I paid last week. Also had to lunch on Cornish pasty. Rather yummy.

    St Michael's Mount in the background. I'll be going past tomorrow on my way to St Austell.

    I found Lamorna Cove down a steep wooded valley. With a steep hill back but worth it. Nothing like as steep as the hill out of Mousehole (which is tiny by the way). Used what my friend Nick calls my 'granny gears' up the 18% slope. Then to the north coast and Sennen Cove. Another coast to coast achieved but this one was only 9 miles!

    Visited the tack-fest called Land's End - only £7.50 to park there and get your candy floss. Might visit again when the sun is setting. Cheap skates don't pay £10 for a photo by the signpost!
    Read more