Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Arsenic, the Daleks and hills

    August 31, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Those seemed to be the main themes for the day. Away from the coast via Hayle. 3 miles of golden sands with horrendous traffic going through the town. Mostly avoided by the cycle route. They are clearly prepared for all events...as evidenced by the mortar on display. Away from the traffic the estuary is really peaceful.

    I thought The Daleks were figments of Dr Who's imagination until rounding a corner I found one pointing at me. Twas necessary to put on a burst of speed at that point.

    Then into mining country. You can sense the scale by the waste and the ruins. The last time I passed the tailing lagoons in the picture they were full. A drought appears to be under way. And this is where ARSENIC appears. In the waste and the water. The Cornish arsenic was renowned for its purity. I wonder how many unwanted relatives were treated to it in their tea.

    Did I say hills? Didn't notice any. Kept my eyes tight shut all the way and used artificial intelligence to guide the bike. If you can't see them they're not there. Same with Daleks.

    And so, by chain ferry to another hill and campsite for the night.

    Another 55 miles done.
    Read more