Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Rest a while

    September 4, 2022 in England ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    A rest day. So good to see Manda. And Theo came home to say hello as well.

    Met my first compatriot LEJOGer on the long hill out of Okehampton. We chatted and shared experiences for a few miles before parting ways.

    One feature of the journey so far is kindness and encouragement from strangers. Fellow campers saying 'Well done', 'That will be quite an achievement', 'If you want a hot drink just come over' and lots of similar comments. Stopping and chatting with other cyclists I've met (though not the Lycra clad, high intensity, only interested in me types).

    Yesterday was free food day. Homer Simpson would have loved it. Free apples, free blackberries. But no banana milk in Tesco for breakfast. I will defo be boycotting that one in Axminster from now on.

    I've done the journey between Axminster and home 3 times this summer and enjoyed the familiarity. The long flat roads round Huish Episcopi and The Levels. The first sight of Glasto Tor made my heart leap. Nearly home now.

    How do places get their names? Went through Sea yesterday . Then there was the signpost to Knave Go By in Devon. What's that all about? And I passed the street called 'Little John's Cross Hill' . What was he so cross about? The fact that there was a hill? I spent ages amusing myself having flights of fancy about Little John s crossness.

    260 miles done. Only 900 to go.

    Leaving on Monday will be hard. For both of us.
    Read more