Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Tough day at the office

    September 15, 2022 in Scotland ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    I know one thing for sure. I'm never likely to do a long trip like this on my own again! I like peace and quiet. I can endure a bit of solitude. But I much prefer companionship. I like to share the things I see, the things I enjoy, the things I hate.

    Well into The Highlands now. No wild haggis yet spotted.

    Moments of joy in my day:
    seeing more red squirrels in one day than in the whole of the previous 65 years;
    spots of colour from fly agaric, foxgloves and harebells;
    seeing the first sign for Pitlochry showing only 41 miles to go;
    getting to Taymouth after 8 long miles by its side;
    crossing my first community owned road bridge.

    Miles of body-shaking railway track bed and forest roads. 8 miles of switchback road without a single turning off alongside Loch Tay...mindnumbingly tedious and never ending! Then a smooth, empty, fast road of joy for the next 5 miles. I just want to finish and get home!

    Interesting bridge built with money raised in memoriam to a local cyclist killed on the notorious A9.

    Interesting plaque on the community owned bridge at Logierait. Acknowledging one person's dogged determination and persistence in making the renovation happen. Well done that man.
    Read more