Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    James Boags Brewery Experience

    February 27, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    I arrived at the museum of the James Boags Brewery Museum early and was able to enjoy a look around the museum before the tour was due to start. Unfortunately we were unable to take any photos inside the brewery as everything is done under secrecy and the type of yeast they use is apparently a secret ingredient in their beer. It was a fascinating look around the brewery but when you have been on a few brewery tours, they all tend to be the same, after all, how many different ways can one make beer?
    After the tour we got to try 3 different varieties of beer Boags produces, all of which are not available on mainland Australia and it got me thinking. They either produce relatively small quantities of these beers, or Tasmanians must drink a lot of beer. But while here I am finding there are varieties of beer from popular brands I have never heard of, others obviously not distributed on mainland Australia. It is unfortunate too.
    After the tour I headed back to get the girls for dinner, and on my way back, it started pouring rain.
    Read more