Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Bike gears

    March 28, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 75 °F

    We woke up early, excited to meet friends tonight. When I saw we had only 46 miles planned, I got on my high horse thinking this will be easy. As you would expect I fell of that saddle later in the day. I was going up a steep hill and did not gear down soon enough, POP, the chain came off and I went down. At the beginning of this trip I would not have known how to fix this, but after a few tire changes, I have become quite the mechanic. We went up and down so many hills! I was able to use everyone of my 24 gears! Bike gears are truly amazing. Today, I especially liked the creeper gear- the low one where your feet go round and round but you only go a a few inches with each rotation- it's the only way to stay upright and reach the top on some of these hills. It may have taken a while, but like the little engine that could, we got to the top of each one. So I have learned the shorter days are not the easiest days.
    We traveled through Davy Crockett (king of the wild frontier) Forest.
    Read more