Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Into Sarria

    October 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 52 °F

    Today we did a “short and easy” walk into Sarria. Turned out to be a hard walk on our feet but I think that is more about the previous days’ (and weeks’) walks than today’s. Unfortunately I tied my shoes a little tight coming downhill and David finally got a blister on his second toe. Anyway after about 13 miles I told David “I’m sorry but I think I’m beginning to feel grumpy because my feet are really hurting!” After 14.5 miles we reached our lodging for tonight and then got some food which helped. I had a beer with lunch, very normal by Spanish standards, thinking it would help with my sore feet but it just made me sleepy. Hoping for a better feet day tomorrow!

    We saw lots of cows! I included a picture from a travel agency’s window of a sign saying in Galicia you will never walk alone because there are over a million cows here.

    It wasn’t supposed to rain until 3:00 today but it started to rain around noon.

    We are down to 114 km to Santiago. In fact Sarría is where people who only have time to walk 100 km start.
    Read more