Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Stargazing - Mauna Kea

    August 15, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Short footprint for this one as had my phone on charge most the morning while I went and read my book in local park (so nice!) and trying to get pics of the activity was boarder line impossible on a phone (thanks for sending me yours Manuela!)
    Yumiko moved into new accommodation today but gave me a lovely gift of an origami crane to give me luck and safety for our future travels 🥰
    Manuela, Elli and I went stargazing... our guide was... memorable... we heard a lot about his lettuce growing business and how he single handedly set up the astronomy centre on top of Mauna Kea (yer right!) 🙄 and his obsession with polishing rocks 🪨
    Buuut the star gazing was cool, saw the milkyway and Saturn through the telescope - rings and 2 moons as well!!! And cluster stars and just really cool stuff that makes you feel very small and insignificant in the great scheme of things 🙃 loved it... even if guide guy forgot the cups for a warm drink! 😅
    Read more