Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Liuqiu Island

    October 3, 2023 in Taiwan ⋅ 🌬 31 °C

    Got up early and went with Hsieh to Lotus Lake... was pretty nice, lots of temples... and terrapins!
    Planned to spend the night in Liuqiu Island but apparently there's a typhoon brewing or something so no ferries tomorrow (boooooooo!) So a day trip it was...
    Usually being unplanned works quite well for me, had an idea that I wanted to go to Secret Beach and then do a bit of a hike on the other side of the island... I only had 5 hours so thought this was a good plan!
    The walk to Secret Beach took over an hour, it was hot, unscenic and quite frankly miserable... I started to think this was going to be the first disappointing day of solo travelling... but then Secret Beach was ace... small, completely empty and saw about 8 or 9 sea turtles... 🥰 (sea was a bit rough so didn't go in! Despite having a cossie and snorkel stuff this time!) Spent about 45 mins trying to capture the turtles on camera (photography really isn't a skill of mine)... they're an absolute tease! If you can spot them in the pic / vid that would make me happy!!
    Anyways, couldn't stand to walk much further so popped into a nearby hostel (it was empty!) to ask if they knew the bus routes... they didn't but one lady, Linees (I think), was very quick to offer me a ride on a moped to the other side of the island... who am i to say no?! That was fun 😄 bloody love strangers!
    Spent a bit of time on Beauty Beach... lives up to its name... before wondering around to Vase Rock (I think it looks more like Broccoli Brain personally, but judge for yourself!) all the while spotting more turtles offshore popping up for air!

    Took a couple of selfies... I think I pull off the sweaty mess look better than clean and tidy! 🤣
    Read more