Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Mama needs a new pair of shoes!!!

    October 5, 2017 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    In each of the cities we have visited, we have tried to take at least a half day and get away from the touristy parts of town and have some quieter , relaxing time. On our last day in Rome we decided to walk to Villa Borghese , a beautiful park full of fountains , monuments and paths leading forever. We sat on a park bench by a lake and listened to a man playing Italian music on his acoustic guitar. Just what we needed to take a breath from all the sightseeing we have done over the last few days. From there we headed towards the Spanish steps. We bought some lunch at the Co-op supermarket and of course a quart of Peroni to share and sat in the gorgeous sun on the steps and just people watched. That is where the mission of the shoes sort of started. Anyone who knows me , knows that I am notorious for seeing something I like in a store but always saying I'll come back later if I don't find something else I like. Well ... yesterday I saw a very cute pair of Italian leather shoes that I liked but wasn't sure about the colour. So of course I didn't get them. Today I mentioned it to Barry and he tried to remember where I had seen them over the almost 20 km we had walked around Rome yesterday lol. We back tracked all over the city , until lo and behold we found the little shoe store !!! Thank goodness for Barry and his incredible sense of direction , patience and pretty much doing anything for me , knowing how much I really wanted these shoes after all 💕💕💕 Every time i wear them I will remember our fantastic trip. I was over the moon excited and we went to have a nice cocktail beside the Trevi fountain before dinner. We are so happy we got to see the fountain at night as well. So pretty, especially holding a bag with my beloved shoes in them😂! We headed back towards our place , ate some spaghetti bolognese and are once again ready to pass out from another full day. Up early tomorrow to catch our train to Venice! 💕Read more