Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    From heaven back into reality

    April 19, 2021 in Portugal ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Having walked 15 kms to Almograve this morning dreaming of a nice lunch (as of today all Restaurants are supposed to be open again), I wondered why the village was so quiet. When I was asked to please wait at the door at the local Café, I discovered that on Sunday night the government had decided to close down a large part of Alentejo. What insanity!
    A narrow Region along the coast, constantly blown upon by a sea Wind where people are outdoors all the time and villages hardly get larger than 1000 inhabitants is closed down. Suddenly I was back in the world of corona and the terrorism of our governments (who unfortunately we elected!). It was like falling out of the sky and my joy changed instantly.
    So I decided to walk on to "Vila nova des Millefontes". Another 30kms which makes my day a 45km day and was clearly too much for me at this stage. Probably I will "get the bill" when I can't sleep because of knee pain.
    Alas, quite stupid one might say!
    But somehow I had to get the anger out of my system!
    Sounds a bit crazy!
    Read more