Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Worst day yet!

    April 26, 2021 in Portugal ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    My last days on the coast were really tough because I was virtually constantly walking in extremely soft sand sinking in with each step. I started to hate sand but all the other beautiful moments made up for it. Now for the last four days we have had thunder storms every half an hour, soaking me to the skin. Today I had really soft sand and constant rain. And when I say rain, I mean downpour! And then the soft sand soaked itself full and I sunk into bog with each step. And when the sand could no longer take up water every indentation became a lake and every rut a river.
    And there was no where for me to flee, no ruins, no shelters. So I walked on constantly reminding myself of the bhuddhist principle of "suffering is caused by fighting against whatever is bothering you. I was only marginaly successful.
    The problem is that walking for days in wet socks and shoes has destroyed the soles of my feet. it feels as ifthe skin is coming loose. If that is the case tomorrow, I have a real problem.
    Coming into a small village this evening, I discovered a public toilet (locked because of corona) with a covered area in front. That is where I am sleeping tonight.
    Read more