Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    Today is one of those days!

    May 15, 2021 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Today is one of those days where everything seems to nerve me!
    It's been raining all day!
    I started off in good spirits, wearing my Poncho and ready to confront this day. After two hours of walking I realised I was just as wet under the poncho from perspiration as my poncho was on the outside. There is no more terrible feeling than a wet body sticking to the inside of a poncho. So I decided fuck-it, and took the poncho off. Now I am really soaked!.
    I have never hated rain more than today!

    And then a truck drove by, through the water puddle and a wave of water hit me.
    I have never hated trucks more than today!
    But the cars are no better!

    Then the path turned off onto a forest path, all dug up by agricultural vehicles and a full night of rain. With each foot step I sink-in 4 cms into fine mud. Sliding around!
    I have never hated mud more than today!

    And then there is my body that is sick-and-tired of this rain and mud and just wants to go home with a hot tea cuddling up on the sofa
    And then my Mind gets all up-tight with my body! Telling it to "shift weight".
    And then to make matters worse my ultra clever spirit enters the discussion and reminds me of the Buddist principle of "ACCEPTANCE" , adding that
    "SUFFERING IS CAUSED BY RESISTANCE"
    And then I get even more passed-off!
    Pissed off with me, pissed off with my body, passed off with the mud, pissed off with trucks, pissed off with agricultural equipment, simply passed off with everything!
    Oh my god, what a day!
    Today is just one of those days!
    And I am simply looking forward to the 27 kms to be passed,
    finished,
    erledigt!
    Read more