Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Oh that body just don't wanna move today

    May 18, 2021 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    It is amazing how the readinass of my body to walk long distances changes from day to day. Today it just didn't feel like walking, suggesting to me at every opportunity that it was time to have a break.
    And so when after about 10 km a man standing in his beautiful garden asked me where I came from and to where I am going and then invited me in for coffee, my body cheered while my inner voice commented that we had barely done 10km, had already had several breaks and actually want to enter into Spain today.!
    A third voice then joined saying "come on, you only live once and life is calling you to enter in dialogue with this guy. And besides, it is unimportant whether you get to Spain today".
    Well, the conversation lasted into the night, and it turned out that this was actually a hostel, and what a beautiful one at that!
    Diego, a photo journalist from Porto who has travelled the world from Africa to India, and Julia from Cologne, bought this hostel from a canadian couple in 2019 because they wanted to live a self sustained life and have their two small kids grow up in nature. On 4 ha they grow a wide variety of vegetables and fruit in Permaculture for which Diego gives courses. Happy chickens run around in between and ducks will soon be eating the snails. What a delicious salad I got that evening!
    Read more