Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Arrived! But in a wrong world!

    May 23, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Arriving in Santiago today I was depressed. Depressed because I am alone and have a deep longing for more than the superficial "hello, where do you come from?"
    I am longing for true, deep, meaningful conversation, where I touch someone's heart and they touch mine.
    Depressed because the world is going crazy. I see lovers with masks kissing each others necks because they can't take the mask off,
    I see joggers with masks, mountainbikers with masks and finally pilgrims walking their pilgrimage through fields and allies with masks.
    I experience people walking through nature and when they notice me, they pull their mask up. And then there are small children, 5 years old, swinging on the Swing with masks!
    I see terrified people everywhere!
    This morning when I arrived at the cathedral for the pilgrims Mass, I was turned away because they only allow 25% of the previous numbers into the mass.
    "THE PANDEMIE" I am told.

    And then I am depressed because politicians are printing money like crazy (+ 15% in Europe in 2020, +20% in USA.)
    And then I constantly hear stories of supply chains collapsing and prices rising dramatically (such as building materials).
    What is coming towards us?
    The rich are getting richer and the tiny pensions of the poor are disappearing. (In Portugal agricultural pensioners are getting 250 euros per month)
    Again and again I gather myself, gather my energy, try to keep it up. And then something happens, and I am back at the bottom.
    And yet,
    Today I took a hotel room, the one I had in 2018 November and allowed myself a jacuzzi in the afternoon.
    Tomorrow, I continue my journey to Finisterre, the traditional End of the Camino and will thus also end my Camino of 2018.
    Read more