Satélite
Exibir no mapa
  • Dia 191

    On the eve of D-Day!

    18 de janeiro de 2023, Omã ⋅ ☀️ 25 °C

    So this is where it gets really serious!
    Tomorrow we enter the "Wahiba sands" desert and it starts with two really high and quite steep hills, and I am dead scared!
    First we drive through a nomad camp on loose deep sand, then a long stretch uphill with a steeper climb at the end. Then it goes downhill for a long distance and then steep uphill onto a plateau.
    We have never driven such a long distance uphill in the sand. If you loose traction once, you will sink in and then don't ask me what one does then.
    Even with sand tracks, starting on a hill is not the kind of thing you want to do, and in this case driving backwards is also not an option because there is a uphill behind as well!
    This afternoon I walked the 5 km until the second hill to get an idea of the sand quality and which track I will take. Because it will be me driving!
    Everyone, please hold thumbs for us!
    And to be on the safe side, I will pray to Allah, because everyone here tells me he is great!!
    Leia mais