Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 35

    A day walking through burnt forest

    12 juni 2023, Verenigde Staten ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    Yesterdays fog became thicker and thicker until we could no longer see the trail. I pitched tent next to a closed road. The air was so moist that water was running down the tent inside as outside. Everything was wet!
    The next morning it cleared up and i put everything out to dry in the first sun. Hardly had the sun come out, when the fog rose from the valley engulfing us again. I gave up, packed and started walking. That's when I met "Narwal" with a special story. I saw his huge rucksack weighing 30kg and more than wondered. He told me he had Apnoea (stops breathing at night) and carries a machine + batteries to keep hin breathing. He had been in Irak in 2003 after the oil wells burnt. The poisonous gasses reduced his lung capacity by half. Since then he has apnoea. How corrageous to be doing the PCT!
    A huge region of indigenous forest had burnt and I decided to walk a part on the road. This accelerated my speed from 2kph to around 5kph, such is the difference between trail and road. I felt as if on the Camino again and quickly walked 30kms in total FLOW along and through burnt forest. As I walked I imagined how the flames engulfed the trees, each burning like a torch and lighting the next one. As I walked I listened to the music of Hania Rani a young polish pianist, the violin, cello and piano, fitted perfectly to my inner pictures of this fire.
    (see Hania Rani, "There will be hope" on the recording "Inner symphonies" )
    But I also saw traces of hope. Flowers had started to flower, the bark of some trees had healed on the edges to burnt areas and some trees had new needles in the crest. Nature is a miracle, even after a catastrophe. AGAIN Hania's music accompanied these feelings. (See "Malasana" on the same recording)
    I arrived at my daily target really early, set up tent and enjoyed an early dinner and hot chocolate! Mmmmm!
    Meer informatie