Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 28

    Topsy turvy

    October 16, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    I think maybe I off loaded so much baggage yesterday that my balance is off, because today I fell - twice! No damage at all the first time except to the final shreds of my dignity. The second time I scraped my knee a bit. I’m grateful I did not actually hurt myself.

    Possibly the five hours of picking my way downhill on rocky, uneven terrain yesterday may have more to do with it. After the amazingly lovely first few hours it became one of the more grueling days on the Camino and my calves are still feeling it.

    Today was an easy walk though, and a pleasant one, much buoyed by learning that our friend David, of David and Ollie, was walking today after all. He looked quite shipwrecked last night and neither he nor I thought he would be continuing, at least today. I was sad! But 12 hours of sleep apparently worked it’s magic and here he is after all and we had a great conversation this evening about our experiences at the Cruz
    de ferro. Another happy moment today? Morgan and I had FRIED EGGS and toast for breakfast, with coffee and orange juice. We were So Happy with this taste of home! It’s the little things.

    I’ve included a photo taken on the way out of town of the huge Knights Templar castle, which I did not get to tour. It goes on my list of reasons I will be walking this route again.

    Tomorrow we will start climbing again toward another icon of the trip, O Cebreiro, though we will stop about 5 K short of that mountain top where the Camino was basically reborn. Then we will drop into Galicia, or “Green Spain.” Lots to look forward to!
    Read more