Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42–43

    Mount Bromo

    February 7 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Together with Maria and Sadie, we take the train to Malang in the evening, from where we set off an hour later, at 00:30, for the sunrise tour to the Bromo volcano. 🌋🌅
    I quickly realise that my plan to sleep on the bus is not going to work. Instead of the bus, we are travelling by jeep on an absolutely bumpy route to the highest point next to the volcano. We are joined by 1000 other jeeps.

    Luckily, we are right at the front and wait (& freeze) for an hour until the sun rises.
    In any case, not sleeping was once again well worth it! 🤩

    Afterwards we have the opportunity to walk up the crater.

    I arrive back in Malang at lunchtime and have a look round the area. Malang is actually quite a nice little town with colourful houses. But I'm really looking forward to going to bed - I have an early start to the airport the next morning 🛫
    Read more