Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Second chance for the capital

    June 28, 2023 in Rwanda ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    When did it happen, already month in Rwanda? The last few days I decided to stay in Kigali , first exploring the city more and then going for an intense day trip to Akagera NP.

    To give this city a chance to convince me, after the initial fail, I tried to be more prepared and look for what I was missing in the last few days - art, culture and good non-african food. To my surprise,I found all of them! Stunning and authentic Indian cuisine, very sad and informative Belgian Peacekeepers Memorial, multiple interesting craft shops run by communities. The final part of the day was spent in the modern part of the city, around the Kigali Convention Center. I couldn't imagine the biggest contrast to poor villages in the North of the country... Luckily it's not only about business, there is also a place for true art there - Inema Arts Center, gallery created by the group of excellent local artists.

    Maybe it's still not the city to settle down, bit I'm slowly starting to understand the soul of Kigali :)
    Read more