Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 36

    Nairobbery? Maybe, but also fun city :)

    July 2, 2023 in Kenya ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    Arrived to Kenya! Second country on my way and even if I still stay in East Africa, the differences between Kigali and Nairobi are huge. I have to say goodbye to perfectly clean streets, regulated traffic and safety at night. The first thing I got as part of the briefing were security instructions - where to go, what to do to not get robbed instantly. It's discomfort, it's annoying, but well,I had worse in South America. On the other hand Uber works everywhere, drivers know the city and are so nice, that almost every drive is fun conversation. I haven't met anyone who cannot speak English yet - this makes connecting to people much easier. On top of everything, there is culture - starting with great Jazz Festival on the first data, I could continued with chilled afternoon in K1 Club, listening to various local live music. I didn't forget about the nature of course - within the city there are multiple animal conservatories available. I decided to start with Giraffe Center, where young animals are being saved and prepared to be released into the wild. Allowing tourists to feed them with snacks ensures surviving of the place and let us get more knowledge from the excellent guides. Definitely worth visiting! After that run through huge reptiles center in the National Museum , learning how soft the feet of baby crocodiles are and with the rest of my energy absolved a few walking tour in Nairobi. Tomorrow I'll head to Massai Mara, but already looking forward to come back to this city :)Read more