Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Biking off from the troubled paradise

    July 19, 2023 in Kenya ⋅ 🌬 28 °C

    Two days in Diani and I already wanted to escape this paradise. Undoubtedly, the beach is clean, beautiful, one of the best I've ever seen. The infrastructure of the resort hotels exceeded any of my expectations and I had a very relaxed morning and evening. Unfortunately, it doesn't take much time to start seeing more: extremely poor locals without any access to the beach besides 2 local bars and walking around for hours as coconut sellers. The whole idea of blocking access to the coast by building multiple hotels with exclusive access is but new - but still very sad especially in the African context. One of the locals said me straight "you can always get through, but they will never let us in". This is the first place in Kenya where I cannot connect with anyone - people are so desperate, that every conversation, small talk, even eye contact lead to question for money, so as the consequence I just avoid it. I'm still using it, buing stuff, but it brings me a lot of mixed feelings, why cannot we just share the beauty of nature without discriminating against each other? :(

    On the good side - this morning I escaped the beach with the help of my amazing mountain bike guide "The Gift". The trip read a really big challenge, but definitely a fantastic experience and brought me back to balance.
    Read more