Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    Cascada el Chiflón

    June 22, 2021 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    6 am in the morning: I’m getting picked up to go on my tour to El chiflón and the 5 lakes between Guatemala and Mexico. No breakfast in sight… I didn’t realize we wouldn’t stop for food… 25 pesos for a sandwich at the tourist attraction but it saved my life, not any step further without food in my system… we hiked up the stairs and path to see the top of the waterfall. Unfortunately it’s a booked trip so we only have two hours, 1 1/2 hours later we’re at the top, 1.2km more in altitude. The security guard we meet there congratulated us, apparently there aren’t many people who reach the top and see the waterfall Quinceñara. The view over the valley makes it worthwhile but the way up is hard. I’m tempted to use the fun zip line on our way back but 25€ for that doesn’t seem worth it. I really would have liked to stay longer, maybe picnicking on top with that breathtaking view around or going up again but this time from the other side, I was totally overwhelmed by the grandness, beauty and noise of the waterfall(s), 100% recommendation and definitely want to come back.Read more