Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Route Napoleon

    June 10, 2017 in France ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    I couldn't wait to unleash my 54 horse power on this famous road. It was delightful with bend after bend on great roads and lots of hills. Perhaps not the best day to be asking a lot of Bluebelle as it was 33c and some of the passes took forever to climb in second gear.
    Before we got to the steep bits we had a big fright as we rounded a bend and found a tour bus overtaking a car with a trailer. The bus was completely on our side of the road heading straight for us. I braked hard and so did the bus and the car. Luckily I had about three feet of verge before a ditch and had to use it to miss the bus. The bus was completely to blame and I heard the horns of the car and several of the following cars. I really hope the bus driver was reported.
    We were overtaken by many motorcyclists as we made our way but one group of three were really out on their own on cornering, they were a joy to watch for the few bends I could see them.
    At one point I looked in my mirror and saw a classic car behind us, it had ribbons and flowers on it and behind it were around thirty cars all part of the wedding. They followed for about ten minutes and we exchanged waves and beeps then I thought I should stop and let them pass. As they passed every one of them beeped and waved enthusiastically. It was great fun.
    Tonight we are in a pretty little town outside Grenoble called Vizille the hotel is very cheap and across the road is the most amazing chateau with beautiful gardens. I will post some pictures of it and some Mandy took as we traveled.
    Read more