Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Home at last

    June 14, 2017 in England ⋅ 🌙 16 °C

    Yesterday was a long day with 365 miles driven at about 55mph from south of Riems to home. We stopped for several breaks on the way to Calais and had a rest on the almost empty ferry. We stopped for Chinese food which was awful at junction 8 on the M11 and got home just as it was getting dark at 10pm. After five weeks in the sun I've gone quite brown.
    Today is Wednesday and I have treated the car to a good clean an oil change and a new filter. It wasn't very dirty as we had next to no rain in the five weeks we have been traveling. The roof has been up for only half a hour in the whole time.
    Mechanically it is running better than ever. Even the oil leak has just about stopped. I used about three litres to get to Malta and around half a litre to get back. Around two pints of water was used with no leaks. I did clean the points a couple of times. Tomorrow I'll check the tappets.
    As we drove the last few miles Mandy said 'Where should we go next?' 'Portugal is pretty'. I replied, so maybe next year we will go on the MG owners gathering then head south west.
    Read more