Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Leaking boots

    May 21, 2019 in Croatia ⋅ 🌧 17 °C

    This was not a day for taking photos. It was raining as I left Krk and it quickly got very heavy then thunder. After an hour I stopped at a cafe and transferred my phone, passport and camera to my well sealed pannier box. Both my boots started leaking so tomorrow's ride will be with my boots lined with carrier bags.
    My plan was to ride inland into the mountains to Korenika then back to the sea at Karlobag following the coast to Split. Instead I abandoned all plans and came on the toll road for 160km in heavy rain to Zadar which is not very nice at all. For £19 I rented an apartment then went to a huge supermarket and bought food to eat in my room, I didn't fancy a restaurant meal.
    Wednesdays forecast is possible thunder storms again so I plan to ride to the nice town of Split despite the weather then stop there overnight if it is raining, if it isn't I'll have lunch and a look around then carry on to Dubrovnik to meet with Mandy. Thursday's forecast onwards is good.
    The photo is a view from my window. This apartment was so hard to find in a run down city full of old high rise apartments from another era, very few streets had name plates I found it as the street next to it had a name plate. Google was better than Garmin at finding the street I walked 35 minutes to get to the old town centre. There was a lot of traffic and I was too tired to enjoy walking around so I came straight back. I'll be glad to be on the road tomorrow rain or no rain.
    .
    Read more