Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Krk in Krk

    May 20, 2019 in Croatia ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    The day started at the hostel with me trying to work out the best was to get to Krk. Google suggested one way and my Garmin sat nav suggested a way which included two ferries rather than go over the bridge. It still suggested the ferries when I told it to avoid ferries so I decided to run with both devices but follow the Google way when they disagreed. See the photo. It starts raining soon after leaving Ljubljana which at first wasn't a problem until it was really raining hard and my phone was getting wet but by then the garmin was behaving. As I climbed the mountain it got cold and misty then really thick fog which was so thick that at one point when I needed to turn right off a road I couldn't see the other side of the road I just slowly followed what the sat nav and Google where telling me and sure enough there was a road.
    Now I'm in the island of Krk in the lovely town of Krk staying in a really cheap apartment with lovely views and easy walking distance from the centre. I think its 25€ including breakfast. As soon as I arrived the rain stopped so I now have my jacket and trousers drying on a line, my bike is in a garage and a welcome beer from the owner is inside me.
    I'm going into town now for a meal as I've had nothing since a small bowl of cereal at the hostel this morning.
    Read more