Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Technology

    June 21, 2019 in Italy ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    As I was riding today I was thinking about the difference from when I rode the Vincent to Malta ten years ago.
    With the Vincent I could see my speed in miles per hour and if I look down near my right foot I could see a gear indicator. If it was horizontal I was in top gear.
    For fuel I had to remember to reset the trip then I'd fill up at 150 miles.
    Don't get me wrong, I love the Vincent and everything about it, but to show how things have moved on look at the photo to see what information is available at a glance:
    My current speed shown on the big display and true speed shown on the sat nav. The speed the cruise control is set at. The speed limit for the road I'm on. (This is shown in two places)
    The revs of the engine and which gear I'm in.
    The distance I can go with the fuel left in the tank
    The air temperature, the time
    How much battery is in my mobile phone and is signal quality.
    If I get a message it would ask if I want to see it.
    How far in time to my destination. When my next turn is, what my next turn is.
    If there was a problem ahead it would/might but not very often tell me and offer a detour.
    I can honestly say I do use all of the above and if I put my mobile phone in the cradle I would see even more.
    Read more