Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Màcon France

    June 29, 2019 in France ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Before I tell you about Màcon I remembered that when I was leaving the hotel in the mountains of Corsica I noticed what I think was a scorpion on the sleeve of jacket as I was checking out. I flicked it off then checked inside my helmet very carefully!
    The ride from Toulon started at 6am as the ferry docked at 05.30, I had slept on a narrow bench in the ships restaurant as there were no cabins available. It was 29c and I decided to take the easy option for once and use the toll roads because the only other option to get as far as Màcon added nearly four hours to the journey. So I was on the main road from Marseilles to Paris and it was very busy with inevitable hold ups which in 35c was not much fun filtering between the rows of stopped cars. At one point I was tired and hot so I stopped at a rest area and fell asleep on a bench for over half an hour. I felt so much better after that.
    I want expecting Màcon to be interesting as I chose it because of it being a suitable distance from Toulon. It has a broad River, a smart church and what looked like a Turkish community. I watched a Turkish wedding pour out of a church with lots of drum music followed by a hundred or more guests. Later I went for a walk and I heard music coming from not far away so I walked to it and found it was a street party for a pizza restaurant which was celebrating 25 years. I asked if it was a private party and was welcomed to join so my ten minute walk ended up taking five and a half hours and me returning to my hotel having had many starters, then pork with potatoes then desserts and lots of different wines. I met a Dutch couple who had also heard the live band. They are in Màcon because thier car had broken down. So we spent an enjoyable evening chatting and eating and drinking.
    Next morning I ride to Beaune to a museum then Dijon to a hotel.
    Read more