Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Croatia North of Split

    June 25, 2022 in Croatia ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    Yesterday seems like a long time ago when I was killing time by the pool waiting till evening to go to Bari ferry terminal.
    In Italy you expect chaos and delays at any ferry terminal and while I waited at the check in which is 3 kilometres from the ferry I met three other motorcyclists. One from Croatia with his wife on a BMW GS 1250 like mine but the adventure version with the huge fuel tank one from Hungary on a nice BMW GS 850 and one from Austria in a Honda 750 scooter. The Honda guy disappeared once on board and the rest of us had a meal together and a great chat then met again in the morning and decided to travel together up the coast.
    In my last post I said I was heading for Sarajevo in Bosnia and Herzegovina but looking at travelers information they said I probably wouldn't be able to buy bike insurance at the border on a Sunday so I cancelled the hostel I had booked and decided to stay in Croatia and head north up the route 8 coast road which is reputed to be one of the best in the world for bikers and I agree. Imagine the best roads you've ever ridden then add to that stunning scenery following the rocky mountainous coast for three hours.
    The three of us had to enter Bosnia and Herzegovina for about half an hour. If you look at a map it is unavoidable. So in that half hour I had no insurance no breakdown cover etc. Not a problem for a short while and sure enough there was no insurance office open that I could see. So we re-entered Croatia where I am covered because it is on my insurance list of countries and where just waved through immigration.
    Further up the road we stopped for coffee and water as it was once again very hot, then we said our goodbyes and soon after they both turned off and I stayed on the coast road for another two hours of twisty roads. At one point I stopped for lunch and after I couldn't face putting on the jacket in the searing heat so I strapped it on the back and rode like most others in a short sleeved shirt.
    Now I'm north of Split still in Croatia in a up market hostel on a tiny peninsula. I've had a swim and a walk and decided on my destination, route and accommodate for tomorrow. 480 kilometers towards the border with Hungary. Not a problem if it wasn't so hot. I've bought water and juice. I just need to find a way to carry it. I'll attach a bunch of photos from yesterday and today.
    Read more