Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Nida Lithuania

    July 3, 2022 in Lithuania ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    It was so nice to leave the journey planning to someone else for once. Gintaras took me to the coast only a kilometre from the border with Russia. We are on finger of land which is connected at the Russian end only so we had to get a ferry then ride towards 40klm to the border town Nida. It's great riding with Gintaras he's a good confident rider, a bit faster than I normally ride and I enjoyed the change of speed. We rode as if in formation cornering together accelerating and braking together. It was easy as we are both on 1250 BMW's No motorways today it was great fun.
    Now I'm sitting at an outdoor restaurant listening to the bubbling hashishas of Gintaras and his friends, one of whom gave me several oysters he was preparing from him own restaurant further down the road. It is so peaceful here.

    I have a change of plan for tomorrow. I'm no longer heading north to Tallinn Estonia then a ferry to Stockholm. I'm catching a ferry from here to Malmö in southern Sweden and my friend Verner is driving down from Stockholm which is a six hour drive to meet me.
    Read more