Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Albania

    May 15 in Albania ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    I stopped overnight at a place called Niksic it was a nice 4 star hotel with great food for 35 euros. In the morning I ride to the orthodox monastery of Ostrog which is over 800 meters up an incredibly twisty narrow road. The monastery is cut into the mountain side and the views are spectacular. I had a deeply moving experience in this place I'm not normally religious but it got to me.
    Next I had the border crossing which was not as difficult as I was expecting. Although the insurance man was trying to charge me €21 but after a nice chat and giving him some wine gums I got it down to 15. Albania is a beautiful place and I had plenty of time to kill before the ferry so I looked around for something to visit and saw a deserted mosque ruin on a hillside quite high up so I had it for it. It was amazing again. I had the twisty roads to get to but once I got there the views were outstanding. Just take a look at the photos now. I'm on the ferry. We're waiting to leave destination Bari Italy
    Read more