Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    優しいマッサージ屋

    December 12, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 46 °F

    Me and the roomates decided to go get a massage from a place nearby our hotel. Upon entering they asked me to put on a black pair of shirt and pants for the massage. This is new to me because I've only ever had massages with oil.

    The masseuse walked in and said the famous phrase 「日本語上手ですね」which was the first time I had ever heard it in my time here! What I have heard more often is people saying something to me in English and when I respond in Japanese they say 「あ、すみません!」and then walk away 😂

    During the massage, she asked a basic question or two about what kind of massages I've had in the past but it was a bit difficult because I don't know the names of massages even in english 😅 We then switched over to what Animes we liked (She liked Gintama and Haikyuu) and talked about hobbies and where we have been in the world. I told her it is my first time overseas and she said that she had not been overseas either!

    It was a very wholesome experience because we started making jokes about various things and she would help correct my grammar when I said certain things incorrectly which I really appreciated. At one point I said 「来週日本語に戻る」(I'm returning to japanese next week) but I meant to say 「来週東京に戻る」(next week I return to Tokyo) and we both laughed. 言葉難しいね!

    Afterwards, I went out to the lobby and had some after massage tea. She walked out to the lobby and bowed down on her knees and gave me her business card. This was very new to me as I have only gotten a business card at the sushi place before. I did not expect her to bow/kowtow all the way to the ground. It felt special but I really don't know because everything is new here! We both were laughing and smiling because it felt like such a kind experience and I don't think either of us knew how to separate the conversation we had from the business context leaving the massage was in. As I was putting on my boots she said 「おしゃれい!」which means "stylish" but I didn't understand at the time and she had to rephrase to say 「ステキ」which means wonderful. I guess that's what they mean but full imersion! It's hard to forget a word when you're embarassed about not knowing it in a real life situation 😆

    She followed me to the elevator and waved goodbye as the doors closed. This is something I've noticed a lot of businesses do. Usually the staff will walk the customer out and wait until they are out of sight to return inside. This is a very strange cultural difference from an American perspective. I don't think we know how to react to someone "seeing us off". My friends said they thought the same thing when they were seen off by the employees as well.

    I love discovering all the small things that are different culturally, it's so fun! And having connections with the local people is so cool :) I wanted to learn japanese because many Japanese cannot speak english. I think that makes our time talking a lot more meaningful and special 😊 One day, I want to be good enough to express myself fluently and be able to convey nuances the same way I do in English. It will take time but I think it would be so cool to be there one day!!
    Read more