Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Inuyama Castle - 犬山城

    December 26, 2022 in Japan ⋅ 🌙 36 °F

    This morning, we got up and headed to a super onsen, which is basically just a large onsen with a game room, saunas, many baths, etc. I've started to really like going to the onsen and will definitely miss it when I get back to America. It makes bathing a really enjoyable experience and has a really relaxing vibe to it. Part of me wonders if the reason Japanese people are able to have the persistance and drive to perform well is because of the way the onsen integrates a kind of meditation and vacation from the days past and future. In that moment, you just are in the water and no other thoughts are flowing. I also think it encourages a more thourough wash than when in America because you're sort of dedicating a whole occassion to taking a bath instead of it being like a chore in America. I think I would probably go to the Onsen on a pretty regular basis if I lived here 🤔

    I definitely have noticed that people keep looking at me because I look out of the ordinary (a white guy). I don't really mind this but I think it's interesting because I'm so used to being the visual majority that it seemed impossible to ever feel like the visual minority. I really like that I'm able to experience this shift in priviledge. As a white person in America, it's hard to imagine how a minority must feel when in a neighborhood or place that is generally only the majority. I feel a bit enlightened to be able to experience this as a daily occurance so I can feel how alienating it is. I believe most of the looks are out of curiousity but there really is no way for me to know! It's only natural to look towards things that are out of the ordinary, and it felt a bit special to be somewhere where I was considered out of the ordinary. It felt special because there must not have been many people like me with this experience if I'm viewed as out of the ordinary ♨️

    I went to an Onsen in Hiroshima, but I felt like I didn't really know what I'm doing. I'm going to put the general order of things in how I understand an Onesen should work.

    1. Onsen's usually have rentals, but if you don't want to rent then bring a wash towel and also maybe a bath towel.
    2. At the genkan (the step up into the onsen), take off your shoes. This is a very normal cultural event to do in Japan but as foreigners it's not so obvious sometimes. While in Hiroshima, some of my friends stepped up onto the genkan without thinking and the staff was not happy!
    3. After taking off your shoes and keeping them off the platform, pick them up and place the shoes and belongings into a locker. If your shoes are in a locker, there will probably be a second locker where you will leave your clothes and other belongings. The only thing you will take into the onsen is your key to this locker.
    4. Enter the onsen area. You can choose to cover yourself with the wash towel or just walk around freely, it's up to you!
    5. Wash off before getting into the hot or cold baths. It's considered polite to make sure you are clean before getting into the public waters
    6. Ring out the wash cloth and bring it along with you or place it on your head
    7. In-between public baths, rinse off. In hiroshima, I saw every wash off before entering a new bath. In this onsen, I didn't see it as often. Maybe it's a personal preference or maybe it varies from onsen to onsen. I'm not really sure on this one so I either followed the Japanese person I'm with or default to giving a short rinse inbetween the baths.
    8. Don't stare at people. I think this one is obvious but the goal is to relax and have a bath for yourself so try not to make anyone else uncomfortable.
    9. When you're ready to leave, take a final wash or rinse off in the showers. Ring out the wash towel
    10. With the ringed out wash towel, dry yourself as best you can near the exit door
    11. You can return to your locker and put your clothes back on
    12. Pick up your shoes and do not place them on the ground. Remember they only belong on the ground if they are outside the raised platform area.
    13. Enjoy the rest of your day 😊
    Read more