Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    The JmoF Rock Show

    January 7, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 50 °F

    I was super excited for the rock show because there isn't something similar in America. There are a couple furry bands but they usually only perform in a mixed type of performance like a variety show or is a single band that is featured for the con. This seems like the "main event" for alot of furry musicians wheras American bands are spread out all over the country and are rarely gathered at a single convention.

    Both Atsu and I were arrived the concert in suit since we came from the courtyard area after the parade. I had actually already met most of the second band at Wolf Bar a couple weeks back! It was cool seeing people I had interacted with performing and it felt like I had a bit more of a connection with the music. The band went by the name Underdrawing and they had immense musical talent up on the stage. I was particularly impressed by their ability to keep tempo and play complex melodies in a very clean manner. It was obvious this band had practiced a ton and really put an emphasis on working together to create a harmonous sound. The singer even came off stage and did some cool hype-man choreography. He sang into the camera and everything.

    The second band was headlined by a singer and guitarist I've talked to and mentioned before named Yoshiro. He seems to have a really personable attitude and was able to talk to the crowd as if they were his friends and lighten the mood.

    The third band went by the name Mirai Fluct and it contained my favorite japanese furry musician Totan on bass and had Yoshiro join in on guitar on some songs. The lead singer had a cool cat-like hoodie on and rehearsed some cool poses. I really enjoyed the driving rock groove this band put forward. I really appreciate when a band takes into account the tambre of the instruments when composing a song and I felt that each instrument was able to shine in their own way because of this.

    We ended up not staying for the entire time because it was about 4 or 5 hours of bands! I wanted to see them all but it is hot in suit and we had not eaten dinner and it was getting late. We popped into the headless lounge where it was clear Atsu was dying from the heat in the suit ☠️ As we drank water, Totan actually came in to the room too so I got to say that I thought the performance was really rad. We got one more cup of water and headed to out to find some food!
    Read more