Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Carlisle

    September 27, 2022 in England ⋅ ☀️ 9 °C

    I had a pretty busy day today. The only thing that I had left to do in Newcastle was visit the Hancock museum. The Hancock museum had also figured prominently in the on line course that I had taken. It was good to go and check out some of the items that they had discussed. These items can be broken down into items made of stone-think temple stones, grave markers or markers to celebrate Roman individuals or small items that were lost. It has been almost a thousand years since Roman times so what would you expect. It is interesting how much information can be extrapolated from such materials. They also had some bronze age stuff- think bog People and some Angle Saxon stuff which I took in. The rest of the museum was a Natural Science museum which I had sworn off this summer after visiting the Natural Science museum in Ottawa this summer. I did get sucked into looking at the stuff.

    I didn't dally too long at the museum as I had to go back to the hotel get my luggage and catch the 1:30 train to Carlisle. I wanted to use the English Heritage pass to get free entrance into the Carlisle castle. The train ride was very pleasant once we got away from Industrial Newcastle.

    The Carlisle castle keep looked very much like our legislature in Alberta as it was covered in Plastic wrap for renovations. I have a theory about visiting castles. They look alot better from the outside as from the inside. I wandered around a little on the inside and on the battlements but there wasn't a whole lot to see.

    Carlisle is a pretty provincial town with many of the buildings made with Red stone. I have been having phone problems. I bought a Sim card off of Amazon from a third party. The card said 5G but was truly only 2G. I could get data but not voice which I will need to call a taxi today. I stopped at a phone shop. It took the woman in the shop 15 minutes but she finally figured out the Sim card was data only. She sold me another card and I am all good to go.

    Supper last night was Thai. I asked for spicy and was it ever spicy.

    I experienced the energy shortage at my B and B in Carlisle. They didn't turn the heat on but fortunately I had a very heavy Duvet and blanket.
    Read more