Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Auckland

    January 30, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    I refused to get up with my alarm today so woke up around 10:30. Not great but definitely better than yesterday. I went down and had my normal eggs and then had some family time through FaceTime. Then I ventured out, first to see if I could find where my bus would pick me up tomorrow but then just to wander. I ended up walking all the way down Queen street stopping to get some iron filled cereal but then continuing until I got to the harbor. I walked around a market down there that was located in a very strange white building. After taking in the views I headed back stopping at two street performers shows which included lots of knives and balls. Then I headed into the downtown Countdown where I finally got my reusable cooler bag along with some iron filled meat. Then I thought I'd take the scenic way back and head through Albert Park and see the university while I was there. Unfortunately, there was a big concert thing that engulfed the whole park and with the fences I wasn't able to see anything. The college ended up being a dud too seeing as it just looked like all the other building and one hall length was blocked off for the concert. So I headed back to the hostel to eat my meat and let it settle in time for my sunset run. I ran to Mt. Eden which wasn't very far but as you can imagine there was a lot of uphill at the end. It was so worth it though. I made it in time to get a 360 view of all of Auckland in the last light of the day with beautifully colored skies in the background. It started getting a little chilly so I headed back only to do a few more hill sprints at the hostel. Then I went in for a nice meal featuring the leftover meat from lunch and decided not to go to the ice cream place I was thinking about visiting. After some tv I headed to the shower and then it was off to bed in preparation for an early wake up.Read more